A writer’s invitation

My daughter’s school invited me to speak for author’s month. How cool is that!? I must admit it felt good to be considered, but highly uncomfortable. In more or less words they told me that I could be a role model to the children and to the community. That I can show the children it is not impossible to live their dreams. Why was it uncomfortable? Well, because I had never seen it that way. I just love to write. I published because I wanted to be an author and wanted to share my stories with others. To possibly offer some escape or entertainment for people, the way books provided the same for me. I appreciate the opportunity to speak to the kids, and I would like to go every year. I hope not to bore them to death and give them the confidence to pursue their dreams. Even if they completely forget what I tell them– I know I won’t.

Leave a Reply

