I Can’t Save You

I cannot save you…

As these words
escape my lips
I say
what I feel
at the moment–
Always.
I pour
what ever
I have
from my heart
like a jar
but not quite
as fragile.

I cannot save you…

Don’t worry
escapes from your lips
You say
What you feel
At the moment–
Always.
It pours
Whatever thoughts
You have
From your mind
Like an avalanche
Of broken glass
But not quite
As dull.

I believe

I can save you…

But not
If you throw
The life
I have tossed
Back

I will watch
From afar,
And see
You swim
Because alone
You prefer to be.

But know
As I watch,
My heart
Will sink
Before you
Get a chance
To see.

Elizarose Nicolas

One thought on “I Can’t Save You

Leave a Reply

