Violet Stone & the Fire God’s Tomb (chapter two)

I looked up to the ceiling of the cave; ancient markings mixed with the native language of the Zapotecs, and markings I had never seen before. There was a large drawing, branded on, of a God of some type. It was unbelievable! The vastness of the cave. I had trouble seeing since the light fixtures weren’t bright enough.

“We’re getting better lighting tomorrow.” Mateo said. I pointed to the image.

“That looks like Pitao.” The sexy archeologist looked at me in surprise.

“How can you tell?” This was the perfect opportunity to get inside his pants with my knowledge.

“Because of the ears of corn in his headdress.” He smiled at me.

“Dr. Brown didn’t tell me you were familiar with Oaxaqueno culture.” I smirked at him.

“I get around.”

There was a loud sound of drilling that interrupted our conversation. The workers were drilling the last wall, because of an entrance that seemed too small for any human to fit in.

“We believe there is something on the other side!” Mateo said yelling.

“Show me the object you found; the one from the picture!” I said screaming from the top of my lungs.

He waved for me to follow him. As I left the cave, I looked up to admire the mountain, how interesting for it to look like a frozen waterfall. I watched him walk, and quickly thought what a nice butt he had. We walked through some foliage as tall as I am as least over five feet or more.

A man stood in front of Mateo’s tent. It was beige with the curtains draped to the side. The tent was at least eight feet by twenty-two feet long; enough to move around and live in.

I walked in and looked around noticing his camp bed that was neatly fixed. By the bed leg stood all his belongings, ready to leave at any moment. Standing by, was a metal shelf that had a weathered tea kettle, pans, plates, and a skillet that they call a “comal”.  He had a table in the back that had papers and tools for excavations, above stood a dark bronze lantern.

“There is one thing you can answer for me.” What I liked about him is that he always gave me eye contact when he was going to speak to me.

“Yes. What is it?” He said. He seemed nervous about my question.

“Why do they call it Hierve El Agua?”

“It means the water boils, because of the bubbling natural springs. The springs are naturally hot.” I knew why they called it Hierve El Agua, but I liked watching him speak. “I’m assuming you didn’t bring a tent.” My sarcasm has always gotten the best of me.

“How can you tell? It’s the luggage isn’t it?” He smiled again and pointed to a space on the far right.

“I will bring you a bed.”

“Thank you I appreciate it.” I said. His eyes quickly changed.

“Now the artifact.” He said.

I stared at him as he walked over to a steel crate and typed in a password on the keypad. It hissed and the lid popped open. He opened it and remove from it a small steel box. Inside the crate, was other artifacts found during the excavation. He brought over the box and placed it on the desk. He typed in a numerical pass code. He turned it towards me and opened it. I couldn’t help but gasp. It looked more impressive than the picture. Laying on black velvet, I removed the object from the box. It stood in my hand and was cold to the touch. Engraved into it was the same markings as the ones on the ceiling of the cave.

“Isn’t it incredible?” Mateo said with awe in his voice.

“Yes it is…where do you think it’s from?”

“I don’t know, but it is not from here. I know this for sure.” He said.

There was something about him that I liked, besides the fact he was hot, his energy attracted me.

The ground began to shake and his dishes started to fall off the rack. I didn’t know what else to hold and I hanged onto him. He grabbed me and hugged me until the lights went out. He hugged me tighter and spoke gently in my ear.

“It’ll be over soon.”

I didn’t feel scared, but anything to be that close to his body I’ll accept.

The earthquake didn’t feel normal as it kept shaking for more than fifty seconds, and the lantern in the middle of the tent kept moving around. I had forgotten I had the object in my hand, until it felt hot. I looked at it and realized it was admitting a blue light. Suddenly, the center of the object turned into liquid silver and formed words: light, door, path. Mateo and I looked at each other, shocked with what was happening. We ran out the tent and noticed blue lights along the grass reaching to the excavation site. Although the Earth kept shaking, we made it towards the mountain. Everyone, including Dr. Brown, were at another camp. Only Mateo chose to stay near the site. We ran into the cave and saw that the entry way that was too small for a human being, had glowing blue markings written above it. We approached it, and I held out the object. The object levitated off my hand and started spinning, and like puzzle pieces the entry broke away and became bigger.

We stood in front a long dark tunnel. Mateo took out his flashlight from his tool belt and tried to light the tunnel, but it was nothing but darkness. I grabbed the stone from the mid-air and stepped into the tunnel. The object quickly shone a bright blue light, enough to see a foot in front of me. I was beyond excited and hardly said a word except for, “Come on.”

“Should we get Dr. Brown?” Mateo said. I looked back at him and smiled.

“Where is your sense of adventure?”

We walked down the tunnel and felt on edge not knowing what to expect. As we made it to the end of the tunnel, it led into a large room as big as the site they were digging in. It wasn’t well lit, even with the object shining. Mateo noticed torches nearby and a fire fountain. He lit the torch and touched the disk of the fountain that lit up with fire. It followed all-round the cave; as if someone traced the ground with gasoline. We stood speechless as the room became brighter. In the center, was a circle of giant stones in the shape of eggs. I couldn’t believe what we had found.  All the eggs engraved with markings I had never seen. Similar to the marking patterns of the artifact in my hand and on the cave ceiling in the other room.

“What is this?” Mateo said.

“I don’t know. It seems like something not of this world.”

As Mateo went to walk forward, I noticed on a side wall markings—pictures drawn of lines coming through floor. It didn’t make sense until I realized what it meant.

“Mateo! A trap!” I pulled him by his collar as a spear of bone came piercing through the ground. He fell on top of me; he looked at me with fear, relief, and gratefulness. “We need to be careful.” I said as I helped him to his feet.

“How are we going to get over there without dying?” Mateo said looking at the giant eggs. I had the weirdest feeling in the pit of my stomach. It felt as if I already knew what had to be done. I took the artifact and pointed it towards the floor.

“Path.” The artifact lit up again as I pointed it towards the floor. The same marking patterns appeared and I saw that we had to take twenty steps towards the center of the large stones.

I looked at Mateo with a smile of excitement, “Follow me.”

Leave a Reply

