Good Witch, Bad Witch…Really?!

A lot of people don’t know this about me, but I have been practicing Sanse since I was fifteen years old. Sanse also known as Sance is in layman’s terms Puerto Rican Santeria. Some consider it a religion, while most consider it a practice. However, (which might surprise you that) many consider themselves religiously Catholic, Christian or other, but Sanse is flexible and can be from any religious or cultural background. To put it out there, Sanse is a blend of Espiritismo, 21 Divisiones Practices, Taino Practices, Puerto Rican Espiritismo, and Brujeria, but depending on the Sansista other religious practices are blended in. Basically, this religion or practice is flexible and open to all. This practice accepts anyone from anywhere no matter who they are, where they come from. It respects all spirits: African, Native, etc.

Some of you who had read what I’ve written above would probably picture me, and the rest of the Sansistas as the wicked witch of East. With our green faces and brooms, maliciously rubbing our hands together stirring a cauldron..haha I have met with discrimination and a lot and I mean a lot of ignorance. What a lot of people don’t know is that Sanse has one main important belief: God exists. God is the beginning and the end, the creator of all things. I will not lie and say that there aren’t people who use this beautiful (religion) practice to hurt other people and drain people of their pockets, but like all people in this world. You have your good ones and your bad ones. This goes to all people from every religion, practice, and background. Saying you believe in God doesn’t make you a good person or because you are attached to Christianity or Catholism make you any more righteous than I am. I believe anyone, Sansista or not, that can judge others without knowing who that person is—is actually judging based on their own conditions and hold negative and ill thoughts on their own and project it onto others.

All I know is that I have never used my practice to hurt anyone or used it the wrong way. I can’t even phantom the thought of using “witchcraft” or “brujeria” (for some of you who throw these words around freely) against anyone. I find it an act of cowardice to use this practice (religion) to harm others because nothing is worse than psychic/spiritual attack.

All I know is that I love Sanse (I accept this as my religion) and all I know is that God had helped me find it. I was suffering from anxiety (bad panic attacks), depression (I would be bed ridden for days) and insomnia. I even had attempted suicide (I know, I know shocking right?! At least for those who know me, but don’t know me–know me haha)

But Somehow God had led me to my Grandmother, who I didn’t really visit often, but she was the one who taught me what I know. I remember her first words to me was, “If you want to be in this religion, you must first be positive and have a lot of faith and know that God always comes first.” With this religion, I learned to be positive and happy. To be grateful and not complain about what I don’t have. It has led me to people, others who were just as lost as I was and now I’m able to help. It has led me to my (3) best friends and a wonderful life. I did suffer in my life and had a lot obstacles (I know shocking with all the witchcraft I know right…haha), but I am forever grateful to God for the life I have. I can’t complain at all. As I have said to a Mormon guest once, “True faith is not when everything is good in your life. It is when everything goes wrong and you can rise above it—That my friend is true faith.” Hilariously enough he said, “Wow, you have more faith than I do.” Thank you Mormon I am glad I gave you great advice and a lesson on faith!

So anyone reading this: You are welcome to believe whatever you want. If you see me fit as a bad witch, I accept. If you see me fit as a good witch, I accept that too! I know who I am, I am Elizarose and I don’t have to prove anything to anyone. I just figured I write this as an educational post on me and a glimpse of Sanse since I’ve started my business called Eliza’s Spiritual Little Things where I make spiritual jewelry using precious stones, and readings by donation. I will be posting weekly on what I’ve learned through my journey in this religion.  If you are interested follow my blog!

rosescripts.wordpress.com.

If you want more information on how I do things you can email me: elizaslittlethings@gmail.com

You can follow me and take a look at my page at: facebook.com/elizaslittlethings and my author’s page facebook.com/NicolasElizarose

The best advice I can give is whatever you don’t know or understand—Do research to expand your mind. You’ll be surprised on what you’ll learn.

https://rosescripts.wordpress.com/2015/10/03/jewelry-for-sell/

https://rosescripts.wordpress.com/2015/09/26/starting-my-store/

3 thoughts on “Good Witch, Bad Witch…Really?!

  1. This is great! I love leaning about other people’s faith and practices, we should all always be open minded to everything, I don’t want to miss anyting!! Thanks… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

